Minutes of the November 8, 2007 Gifted Advisory Board Meeting

The fall meeting of the Smyth County Schools Gifted Advisory Board was held on November 8, 2007 at Atkins Elementary School. The meeting was called to order by chairperson Antoinette Goodrich.

Patty Warren, Principal, welcomed everyone to her school. Linda Baker, Gifted Supervisor, introduced the principals and other guests. The principals introduced the parent representatives fiom their schools.

The minutes fiom the spring meeting were read by Antoinette Goodrich and approved. Nominees for the 2007-2008 Gifted Advisory Board Chairperson and Secretary were presented at this time. Julie Sturgill was elected as Chairperson and Susan French as Secretary.

Dr. Danny Dixon, Director of the A. Linwood Holton Governor's School, gave a PowerPoint presentation on Virginia's first and only virtual governor's school.

Megan Nelson, a senior at Chilhowie High School, discussed her summer experience at the Governor's School for Agriculture at Virginia Tech. Her discussion included a PowerPoint presentation of her activities and research.

Amanda Barbrow, Tylor Franklin, and Gus Robinson, students at Northwood Middle School, discussed their experience in the Emory & Henry Summer Scholars Program. Lynn Campbell, Gifted Counselor, spoke about the gifted conference that she attended in Williamsburg in October.

Mr. Dave Bockes closed the meeting with some comments on the 2005-2010 new assessment process and gifted education. He then adjourned the meeting.