Smyth County Honors Teachers of the Year

Smyth County Public Schools 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year were honored at a reception held at Hungry Mother State Park on Friday, Aug. 6. The faculty and administration of each school selects a Teacher of the Year, then a committee of distinguished retired teachers selects a county-wide Teacher of the Year from that group. The 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year is Ashley Cannon, who teaches physical education at Atkins Elementary School. Other 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year are:
  • Ryan Blevins of Chilhowie Elementary School
  • Valerie Booth of Chilhowie High School
  • Michael Berry of Chilhowie Middle School
  • Rebecca Smith of Marion Elementary School
  • Julia Mitchell of Marion Middle School
  • Marion Senior High School selected its entire faculty to serve as Teachers of the Year. English teacher David Cathcart accepted the award on behalf of his fellow faculty members.
  • Nichole Poore of Northwood High School
  • Amy Dunn of Northwood Middle School
  • Misty Trivette of Oak Point Elementary School
  • Patricia Roberts of Rich Valley Elementary School
  • Ella Frazier of Smyth Career & Technology Center
  • Amy Phillips of Saltville Elementary School
  • Lauren Sluss of Sugar Grove Elementary School
Please click the thumbnail photo to see an enlarged version of the 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year.