School Board

The Smyth County School Board is an elected body responsible for setting the overall policy and direction of the school system. Members are elected to four-year terms. Each member represents a specific geographic area of Smyth County, as indicated by the following table.

The School Board meets the second Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m. in the school board meeting room on the third floor of the Smyth County Office Building, 121 Bagley Circle, Marion.


District Board Member Email Phone
Atkins Susan B. Williams 276-686-5321
Chilhowie Todd Williams 864-237-2849
North Fork Charles "Mac" Buchanan, Jr. 276-782-0301
Park Dr. Kyle Rhodes 276-782-2586
Royal Oak Dr. Paul Grinstead 276-685-9138
Rye Valley Jesse Choate 276-677-3293
Saltville Roger Frye 276-706-0473